Home How We
So Far
To Come
Questions Links Blog

Ian Whates

Ian Whates lives in a comfortable home down a quiet cul-de-sac in an idyllic Cambridgeshire village, which he shares with his partner Helen and their pets – Honey the golden cocker spaniel, Calvin the tailless black cat and Inky the goldfish (sadly, Binky died a few years ago).

Ian’s fascination with the fantastic began at a young age, manifesting while at school when he produced an SF murder mystery as homework after being set the essay title “The Language of Shakespeare”, much to the bemusement of his English teacher.

His first published stories appeared in the late 1980s, but it was not until the early 2000s that he began to pursue writing with any seriousness, joining the Northampton SF Writers Group in 2004 having met its chairman, Ian Watson.

In 2006 Ian launched independent publisher NewCon Press, quite by accident (buy him a pint sometime and he’ll tell you about it). That same April he resumed submitting short stories, selling some 25 to various venues by May 2008. One of these even found its way onto the shortlist for the BSFA Awards… and it didn’t come last!

Ian’s debut novel, City of Dreams and Nightmare (Angry Robot, March 2010), is the first in an urban fantasy series set in the fabulous multi-tiered city of Thaiburley. His second, The Noise Within (Solaris, May 2010), marks the beginning of a space opera sequence. Ian maintains that switching between the two milieus keeps life interesting… if at times confusing.

Learn more at the Ian Whates and NewCon Press websites.